On over 500 acres along the shoreline of the Patuxent River, Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum explores the changing cultures and environment of the Chesapeake Bay region of the past 12,000 years.
Visitors can investigate thousands of years of human history by touring archaeological sites and trails, acres of working farmland, restored farm buildings and museum exhibits, and by attending educational programs. More than 70 archaeological sites have been identified, from the prehistoric period 9,000 years ago through the Colonial period, and including the site of the 1814 Battle of St. Leonard Creek the largest naval engagement in Maryland's history.
Park Grounds and Trails
Open 7 days a week, year round
Wednesday through Sunday, mid-April - mid-October.
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
No admission fee
Some of the fiercest fighting of the War of 1812 took place on and around the grounds of the Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum.
On June 8, 1814, after a skirmish with Com. Joshua Barney’s US Chesapeake Flotilla, the British navy blockaded his “mosquito fleet” of gunboats and barges into the Patuxent River.
The American flotilla withdrew up St. Leonard Creek (a major tributary of the Patuxent) in hopes of outmaneuvering the bigger British ships.
What followed became known as the First Battle and Second Battle of St. Leonard Creek, the largest naval engagement of the war on Maryland waters.
Park land served as a mustering ground for the militia, US Army soldiers and US Marines that came to support the flotilla.
Gun batteries mounted here helped attack the British on June 26, which allowed Barney and his men to leave the creek and sail up the Patuxent.
Educational programs on the historical, cultural, and natural resources of the area; annual events include a War of 1812 Reenactment, Celtic Festival, African American Family Community Day, Children's Day on the Farm, and Native American Technology Day
Publicly accessible park and museum with archeological sites and trails, farmland, restored farm buildings, museum exhibits, and more.
Museum is accessible